Children Waiting for Adoption

Children Waiting for Adoption

The following children are waiting to be adopted by loving families. We encourage you to take a moment and learn more about our featured waiting children. For inquiries, please contact the adoption social worker at the bottom of each listing or call our offices at 616.451.2021.

Introducing Logan
Introducing Logan

Logan (age 16) is a teen that likes to stay active and enjoys sports, especially basketball. He likes to joke around with others and play video games. Logan reports, “If I could visit anywhere in the world I would like to go to Hawaii!” He adds, “If I had three wishes I would wish for a mansion, a Lamborghini and $400,000!” Logan’s favorite foods include macaroni & cheese, pizza, cheeseburgers and nachos. He reports, “When I grow up I would like to be a detective!”

A closer look…
Logan responds best to consistent and proactive role models in his life. He is doing his best to learn how better manage his emotions. Recently, Logan has shown great improvement maintaining his composure when experiencing daily stressors. At school, he benefits from structure and proactive staff members that will help him follow through with his goals.

How you can help…
Logan is excited to see the world and is very open to being adopted not only from Michigan but from any other state by a loving family. Logan needs an adoptive family that will be patient and have experience parenting teens with emotional needs. The family must show him that they care for him through feelings and actions as opposed to providing him with material things. Logan would benefit from a family that can provide him with a home environment that is structured and consistent.


For more information, please contact his adoption worker, Anna Surdam at 616.774.0199 or to email her, click here.
 

Trevor 2013
Introducing Trevor

Trevor is a bright and inquisitive young man. He is very creative and likes to build things with his Legos and Bionicles. Trevor really enjoys playing video games and would play them all the time if allowed. In addition, he likes to read and learn about history. Trevor notes, “If I could go anywhere on Earth I would like to see the pyramids or go on an African safari because I like history and animals.” When he grows up he would like to be a zoologist or a jockey. Trevor is not very picky when it comes to food but says, “I’ll eat anything, except for octopus or squid!”

A closer look…
Trevor is very proud of the progress he has made in terms of being able to effectively manage how he reacts to his daily stresses. He is working on developing appropriate social skills and being more respectful of others’ personal boundaries. Due to Trevor’s turbulent past, he can still have difficulty understanding personal space and appropriate social cues. At school, he does best in a smaller classroom environment with supervision and structure.

How you can help…
Trevor is in need of an experienced adoptive family who has knowledge of parenting children who have overcome a difficult past. Trevor notes, “I would like to have a dad to play catch with and go to see a horse race because I might want to be a jockey.” He adds, “I would also like to go to Disneyland or Disneyworld.” Trevor is open to the type of family he would like, as long as there is a strong male mentor. It would be in Trevor’s best interest if he was the youngest or only child in the home with no small pets. Trevor is open to families of a different race, sexual preference or religion as long as he is allowed to practice his own faith. The family must be active advocates for Trevor at home, in school and in the community to ensure he can reach his fullest potential. Additionally, the family must be willing to continue and seek out any support services that are beneficial to Trevor’s well being. Trevor is participating in a treatment program that he would like an adoptive family to take part in with him to help his transition into the adoptive home.

A little more about Trevor...
To see a video about Trevor, his interests, and what kind of family he would like, please watch this video.


For more information, please contact his adoption worker, Kristi Thompson at 616.774.4303 or to email her, click here.
 

Introducing Joshua
Introducing Joshua

Joshua is an African American boy, who is 20 months old. He has extensive medical needs. He was born with Di George Syndrome, which resulted in numerous anomalies, including severe cardiac malformations, chronic respiratory failure, immune deficiencies, developmental delay, and cleft palate. Due to his medically fragile state, he requires 24/7 care by a child specific, trained caregiver and/or trained nursing staff. He is trach and vent dependent. His caregivers are to provide a 24 hour plan of care. He cannot be around any type of smoke and his caregivers cannot smell like smoke.

His caregivers must be trained on how to operate his vent, trach, pulse ox, suction equipment, and other medical devices. It is medically necessary to have two identified trained caregivers available at all times in order to meet this little guy’s needs. He does receive nursing care through a local in-home nursing agency, thus an adoptive family needs to be willing to have nursing staff in their home daily. The adoptive family should live 2 hours of a children’s hospital.

He’s a cute little guy, can sit up on his own, and has been working on standing in a dynamic stander for an hour or two daily. He’s starting to vocalize “mama” and “aah.” He enjoys spending time in the living room with the his foster siblings and he enjoys “rough housing” with the foster dad. He has at least 8 different specialists in addition to his primary care physician. Any caregiver needs to be willing to schedule and follow up on all medical appointments and treatment and needs to feel confident and competent responding quickly in the event of a medical emergency. Please contact me if you feel your family is willing and able to provide Joshua an adoptive home.


For more information, please contact his adoption worker, Jen Fedewa at 616.774.4627 or to email her, click here.